Reviews and commentary on Tashlinesque

One minute to lunchtime!

A quick post to remark on a few of the mentions of my recent book, Tashlinesque, that I have found popping up here and there online.

The review of my book on Jaynie’s Pink Palace, a rather terrific site dedicated to the work and worship of Jayne Mansfield — whose best film work was, I believe, the two films she did with Frank Tashlin, The Girl Can’t Help It and Will Success Spoil Rock Hunter?, both of which I discuss extensively in my book – was the first one I found online. I am happy to find another author who takes Jayne Mansfield seriously. She was a vastly underrated performer, I am convinced.

David Bordwell and Kristin Thompson offered some kind words about my book on their blog, and even used a couple of images from Tashlin films to illustrate their recent “new film book roundup” post.

The authors of the excellent film blog The Parallax View came to news of my book via Bordwell’s and Thompson’s blog, and then were kind enough to follow up by visiting this very site; they comment on both writings, and then some, in this recent post. Many other worthwhile sites are linked in that post, as well.

I do hope to make more posts like this one in the near future. Now, if you’ll excuse me, it’s time for lunch.

Posted on April 9, 2012, in Film, Tashlin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

